OLE! AND WOT IS ZEEZ?

Lo que estás hablando? What are you talking about? What do you mean there is no such dish?

I’d been ordering as a side dish with fish or prawns all my life. In my teens, my mom would say ‘I am making chicken peri-peri, can you get the Spanish rice going for me, please?’ and I’d get down to finely chopping the onion while the white rice boiled.

According to Wikipedia:

Mexican rice, occasionally known in US as Spanish rice, is a side dish made from white rice, tomatoes, garlic, onions, parsley, cilantro (coriander) and other ingredients.[1] One common preparation is to sauté the rice in a skillet until golden brown, then simmer it in chicken broth or stock. Vegetables such as peas, carrots, or corn may also be used depending on the recipe.

Although it is called “Spanish rice” this side dish is unknown in Spain. The term “Spanish rice” is not used by Mexicans or Mexican food enthusiasts, and its use probably stems from the fact that the Spanish language is spoken in Mexico, and the dish is usually simply referred to as arroz (“rice”) in Mexico.

It is a popular dish in the American Southwest, where it often features generous chunks of grilled and stewed vegetables in a Tex-Mex style. The version of the dish cooked throughout South America tends to be a more homogeneous character, often with just enough tomato and chili pepper to give the distinctive red-orange color and a smoky, garlic and onion-laden flavor. It is usually served as a side dish alongside other Mexican cuisine.

As a staple in the fodder of the single person, it is invaluable; all one needs is a couple of tablespoons of leftover rice and the possibilities are endless. A bloke I know left me two beautifully made smoked sausages yesterday, when he popped in to help me with a bit of drilling to hang a shelf in my miniature kitchen. Lulubelle shamelessly pilfered one of the sausages whilst I sat too long on the teelephone, but her obvious approval left me helpless to scolding.

Oh well, a bit of this, a bit of that, and I was quite satisfied with my stir fry of sausage-savoury rice. I do believe I’ll do it again’ it’s good whatever you choose to call it.

I’ve long been absent from making contributions to Celia’s ‘This month in my kitchen’ offerings. Getting settled in my cottage, another tedious spell in hospital and other things took me away from blogging; but I am thrilled to be firmly back in the saddle at my little home office again and will be making my way around to visiting old friends soon.

My new kitchen leaves little to boast about, measuring – as it does – a mere 4 x 2 meters in size, but I have even managed to fit in a nook where I can sit and read over breakfast or a cup of tea, if I wish. It once formed the portico to the gazebo of our swimming pool area and needs a coat of paint, but I have found myself to be remarkably resourceful in adapting.

The doll-house stove is my only bug-bear as few of my pots fit into its oven. I remember one exchange of comments I had with Celia, where we agreed that the desire to own a collection of Le Creuset pots was not that wise given that we’d be unlikely to lift the heavy things one day in our dotage. I’ve found a very affordable, lightweight and just-the-right-size cookware at Checkers and have invested in my first pot-for-one:

So, back to my meal for one of sausage and Spanish rice, it proved jolly good in any lingo. Viva Espana!

 

47 thoughts on “OLE! AND WOT IS ZEEZ?

  1. I often cook just for myself at lunch time when my family is at work or school. It’s a custom to eat sandwiches here but I’m not a fan. So I usually make something simple, with leftovers or specially bought ingredients, and I find myself becoming quite creative at making something out of strange combinations of ingredients. Sausage in rice looks good.

    BTW Your kitchen is about the same size as mine, which is in a family home. Ours is a ridiculous 3 X 2.5 meters. It’s an open-plan kitchen (even worse) but even so, more than one person cooking in the kitchen really doesn’t work.

  2. Hi Cindy, I so enjoyed your post and I have also made the sausage and rice. I love rice, so make many kinds to go with almost everything I eat. You have done an awesome job with your space!!!! We all have too much room and way too much stuff in it. I have a friend who is always after me to dejunk some more, went from a 6000 sq ft house when my husband was alive to 1800 now, and she is right. I still have way too much stuff. I am also the keeper of my folks stuff, and his folks stuff so hard to get rid of the memories. Stay well, and be strong!

  3. This rice is awesome…..I made a jambalaya on the weekend and it really is just a fancier take on this…so very delicious. I made enough for an army and have frozen 4 portions for myself…and that after feeding the family. Except for Don of course…I chillified it drastically to suit my hectic desire for something HOT :) BTW……my kitchen is smaller….I absolutely know it! Hugs and love xx

  4. I have no idea how to measure in meters but my kitchen is small for family kitchen and no dinning room. I don’t mind not having a dinning room but I would love to have a huge island with the stove and sink on that. And loads of windows and a view! I hate to cook and don’t so much so its not a huge problem. I make seperate meals for me and my husband because I don’t eat meat. I just eat whatever I can super easily throw together. Sometimes just oatmeal or yogurt. And he eats terribly plain so nothing fun here. I see that you have more pots than I do. Way more :) And I love the way you have arranged your chicken and rice, so cute. I would have slopped it on the plate and dove in. Glad that you are back in the saddle again, missed you.

  5. I can’t believe Lulubelle ate half of your dinner! How naughty of her. Great that you have a generous heart and were instantly forgiving. It sounds like you are doing a great job of turning your little house into a home xx

  6. Love what you’ve done with the place. It looks great, Cin.

    Rice is a great leftover to have:
    Spanish Rice => Paella!
    NOLA Rice => Jambalaya

  7. Hi Cin! Thanks for the wee peek into your childhood. Spanish Rice was one of the first dishes learned in our Home Economics course at school. I felt so grown up making it so smiled when you mentioned taking on the responsibility.

    I’ve switched to Quinoa and use it in similar ways to rice. I like its taste and texture – plus it’s full of protein. If I don’t feel like making a type of “spanish rice’ dish, it ends up in an egg dish or in a good soup.

  8. Oooh, I would love a cuppa, Cindy, in the charming reading nook…how delightful! Thrilled and thankful to have you back! You were missed by many.. Prayers and hugs xx

  9. Yummy rice dish! I really love sausage in it :) I’ve been away from blogging for so long and didn’t realize your blog has turned pink! I love it :)

  10. It looks like a great meal.
    Didn’t we used to get Spanish Rice in instant packets?
    I love your colorful vignettes, especially the red, ;-)
    Thanks for sharing.
    I’m glad you’re back, we missed you.
    ♥♥♥

  11. Oh, those neat and handy areas where things are unlikely to get buried forever …
    *looks despairingly at the state of the study*
    Everyone seems to be into food that when one bites into it, bites you back, lately!

  12. Such a delicious dish for winter – and coincidentally what we are having for dinner tonight but with organic chicken sausages – yum! Love the cosy, welcoming home that you have created for yourself.

  13. Your new pozzie looks lovely, Cindy. Amazing how far down we can scale when we have to, lol! Mine is still far from finished… planning to get down to it (in more ways than one) this weekend. I’m happy that you sound happy too! ♥

  14. There she is, I can hear you coming back to us, and I’m so happy for you. We’ve missed you in the IMK posts, but it’s a joy to see what a cozy little space you’ve set up for yourself. Love the new pot, and glad that it wouldn’t be too heavy for either of us! Spanish rice sounds exactly like my cup of tea! xxx

  15. Enjoyed seeing more photos of your new digs.

    Around here we just say “arroz” and know that we mean Mexican rice. I think “Spanish Rice” is more frequently used in the Midwest and the East, but not sure. You’re right: the dish is versitile.

      • It is mildly poetric. The Arabic I think you know is ruz, which has a little harder sound.

        Cindy is nice to see getting more active again on Facebook and on your blog. Look forward to more from you as things settle down. Very much miss your regular posts. Many blessings ~

Leave a Reply

