LIMBO AND GLUE

Differing slightly from the original meaning, in colloquial speech, “limbo” is any status where a person or project is held up, and nothing can be done until another action happens. – Wikipedia. Limbo is also a rather daft dance that people do; where they try to go as low as possible under a horizontal broomstick without falling down. This post has nothing to do with this dance.
And so I bid adieu to the hairstylists who’ve been so important to me over the past troubled months. Their kind acceptance and support has been a lifeline and the many amusing anecdotes I picked up from the clients have provided a virtual silo of material for future writing. I am grateful that all ties are not cut; I shall still go and help out on Saturdays, when the salon is very busy. Hopefully in lieu of getting my hair styled as I have become accustomed to wearing it.

My CV has been sent to all the right places and while I wait I simultaneously shed and collect: I’ve done a massive clear-out of things I no longer want in my life (and garnered a fair sum of loot from junk dealers!) and have returned to my long-neglected hobby of ‘making doodles’ of my sketches, photos and ramblings.

I collect these things like a magpie and my ‘doodle pages’ were usually notebook sized, but I am now making giant ones.

Perhaps they will eventually cover my passage wall and provide insulation against what promises to be a very cold winter.

For now, they are simply therapeutic. And very messy, I end up covered in glue.
I continue to make a ceremony of mealtimes; my table is laid and my food is nicely plated. Behind my shoulder – always – stands that horrible ghost of an old lady in a terrycloth dressing gown eating baked beans straight from the tin…
PS: can anyone tell me why my widgets all appear at the bottom of my blog instead of at the top of the page?

34 thoughts on “LIMBO AND GLUE

  1. It was a pleasant surprise to see a new post from you today. So happy to see you back.
    Concerning widgets: on the page I’m seeing, they seem to be, for the most part, to the right of the blog text area. I’d be happy to investigate and do my best to help, but I’d need to know precisely what you are seeing. ))

  2. Ah limbo – who knows, we may meet in its hallways before we both kiss it goodbye… Your doodles are sooo creative and beautiful, Cin; today the DREAM speaks to me especially.

  3. Well, you might as well dance while you are at it! I love those Doodles and how you are displaying them! I might even consider doing the same with some photo collages of mine, except our walls are already so crowded with so much art – I mean REAL art! :lol:

    Good to see you are in fine form, and good thoughts are floating in the ether for your next great job!

  4. I don’t see anything wrong. They will probably right themselves on your view too. I love your doodles, Cindy, and I’m happy to see you are sounding more like your old self as well.

  5. Sometimes I am that lady eating baked beans out of a tin.But my excuse is that I work long hours ha ha!I(I do the table laying thing on weekends though).Take care and have lots of fun with your doodles.

  6. Good Morning to you!!! It is always good to see you/hear from you. Enjoy the long weekend and your snackwhich looks yummy, is it cheese ‘n mushroom?

  7. My widgets end up on the bottom only when I read my posts on a phone or narrow screen.. Apart from that I don’t know much?? Glad you are feeling (and looking, I might add) awesome.. And keep up your Art (they’re not just doodles) it really is therapeutic!!

  8. That old woman? She get around and haunts many! Around here, she keeps all her possessions in a grocery cart. The way to get her to disappear is to love her. Great doodles, Cin.

  9. I posted a comment here and it’s gone astray – good to see you are taking care of mind and body nourishment, Cin. Good luck with the job search.

  10. Beautiful artwork, Cindy…hope you’re keeping nice and cosy, and glad your widgets are back where they belong :-) All the best on the work front, xo

  11. Your doodles are quite something, fun! Sending you good wishes and waiting for more posts, be kind to yourself.

Leave a Reply

