NOT BREAD ALONE

Man, it has been widely said, cannot live on bread alone. This idiom, from the Bible, is explained in a more secular manner by thefreedictionary.com as “something that you say which means people need things such as art, music and poetry as well as food, in order to live a happy life …”

What happiness, then, if the bread in itself is art, music and poetry in loaf-form?

My folk have long been bringing back treats from – and raving about – Not Bread Alone. Now I drive past the bakery daily on my way to the salon and decided it was time to pay a visit.

At first glance, it is inauspicious, situated as it is in the forecourt of a petrol station. But my, what sights for sore eyes on the interior. The staff bustle about happily and their delight in their work environment is evident as they lay out oven-fresh pastries, tarts and cakes.

Prices are very reasonable and there are a few tables where one can enjoy a sit-down meal, or one can simply pick and choose a few items to take away and nibble on at the office.

Corlia Hibbert, who co-owns the business with her husband, James, tells me they have been in operation for five years and have recently opened their second store. The sweet life indeed, but in the end I opted for a savoury option and enjoyed a ham quiche with my mid-morning coffee.

And just in case I suffered a mid-afternoon sugar slump, I thought it best to buy a little strawberry treat. You never know …

Not Bread Alone is situated at 63 Malibongwe Drive and at Cnr Rivonia & Protea Roads.

Disclaimer:
I have not been paid to write this review.

58 thoughts on “NOT BREAD ALONE

  1. Just a little ‘sweetie’, who could resist one would be ‘drooling’ all day, and after eating a strawberry chocolate delight in your photo one would be contented and smiling for the rest of the afternoon. x

  2. Cindy, I sit here recovering from a gall bladder removal op, and thinking how I couldn’t eat fatty foods before. When the pain dies away and the dressings are removed, I look forward to being able to indulge in one or two of these delicious delicacies.

    John

  3. I love that there was delight within the staff…I don’t bake much (add vegan and GF to mix, it makes for fun experimental baking) but when I do, there is such a sense of zen. I think a coffee/book/vegan cafe is in my next life. Fabulous pics! ~

  4. Did I see little custard pies in there? Ask her for the recipe! Bribe her or something. I love those things!! One day i am going to visit your neck of the woods.. the food there is so good! c

  5. Aww, Cindy, I didn’t get this notification…..just as well, by now I would have put on a kilo or two just looking at the pics…and drooling, yum!! ;)

  6. Stunning pastires and pies, only complaint is the corn in the Cornish Pasty’s, their name is no reason to put corn in a pasty!! Everything else devine:)

Leave a Reply

