HAPPENSTANCE, PANSIES AND WONTONS

This ‘Post A Day’ malarkey was not clever of WordPress. Firstly, it creates unnecessary pressure on the blogger to come up with meaningful content every day. Secondly, it is extremely stressful, if you are away from the internet for a single day, to catch up with your friends’ posts. I’ve decided not to worry too much about it …
No rose today, my lovelies, some pretty petunias and pansies instead. We’re not allowed to say ‘pansy’ in this country anymore, it was fine to say back in the day when pansy was a flower and gay meant happy, but nowadays the gay boys take umbrage. Better to call them – as Kathy in Canada does, ‘Johnny-jump-ups’ …

Fuchsia seems the leitmotif-palette for my life at the moment. This is my new ‘office’. Ain’t it pretty? From here I can watch summer unfold; on either side of the salon is a restaurant, one Italian and the other Asian, both busy all day.

Noun
1.
happenstance – an event that might have been arranged although it was really accidental
coincidence
chance event, fortuity, accident, stroke – anything that happens suddenly or by chance without an apparent cause; “winning the lottery was a happy accident”; “the pregnancy was a stroke of bad luck”; “it was due to an accident or fortuity …[Chambers Dictionary]

I feel so lucky; there is a Chinese supermarket right next door to the salon! Can you imagine how excited I was to discover this? I have befriended the owner and have already earmarked a number of items which I will buy with my first salary cheque.


After ages of searching, I finally have a source for wonton wrappers and was able to make sweet & sour pork wontons in the steamer I’ve owned for more than a year and have never used. They turned out a bit fiddly, but practice makes perfect. With a ginger and chilli dipping sauce, they went down a treat and Old Spouse managed to polish off 2 dozen. I am thinking of doing them again tonight, with peanut chicken filling.


But now I must dash; there is frivolity that must be attended to, I am thinking ‘mango’ is a good shade for my nails today…

75 thoughts on “HAPPENSTANCE, PANSIES AND WONTONS

  1. enjpoy the frivoloty ;-)

    does the chinese supermarket have those tiny dried fruit like oranges. I beacme addicted to them in China and found a shop in hong kong that sold them in sealed packets. I used to fill all the spaces in my suitcase with packets every time i went, but sadly an addiction means you do end up eating them all eventually…..

  2. My gosh! and you still find time to paint your nails? ;) I feel like waiting for it to dry takes up too much of my time… once a week… let alone once a day or every second day. It does look pretty on you though :) Hope you enjoy the new job!

  3. Morning Cin, the tea mugs look pretty with lids!
    I had wontons once and I didn’t know there is some liquid/broth inside but they were nice.

      • No I have never received anything, was there not a return adress? I wonder what happened :-(
        17446 Zone 14, Sebokeng 1982. I receive all my mail maybe your collection receipt got lost somewhere. If you remember the date I can try tracing. I am sad though.

      • The Post Office probably stole it … it was a big parcel, but not heavy. It was too expensive to send by registered mail so I stupidly sent it by regular mail. I don’t remember the date, but it was before you sent me the sms pictures of K. By the way, you owe me an updated pic, I’d love to see how she looks now :)

  4. Pansy indeed! Why are all the moffies so bloody sensitive! Looking at your photo I would proudly to be likened to a pansy! Now if only I was still so pretty……..hehe

  5. Cin do you paint your nails every single day?
    I get cheesed off if my paint job does not last at least a week!!
    Have a wonderfully colourful day!

  6. I’m still posting every day, but I do feel the pressure! Not from WordPress but more from myself. I can be pretty tough on myself when I set myself a task. :-)

    What ARE you doing in that salon? New job? You talk in riddles. Anyway, nice to have that Chinese supermarker so nearby!

  7. Yes, what are you doing in that salon? Have you become a hair or nail technician?

    Those wontons look delicious. BTW I buy the wrappers and freeze them in packs of 10 or 12. It works a treat.

  8. I don’t like to say I will, then don’t or can’t. I took the ‘post a day’ sticker off after a couple of months.

    A restaurant on either side! Watch out Cin, the temptation may be too much…

    Love the flowers and human pansies must just live with it. I hadn’t heard that they frown on us using the word. Very old fashioned word that nobody uses any longer anyway!

  9. What fun you are having with your new job – so exciting. I remember those mugs from the supermarket in Mauritius and never got around to buying any – quite silly really as they were ridiculously cheap! :-) Mandy

  10. You don’t need to make a post a day for me to tune in… I seek your wonderful words …even after a year of my absence you were the one who drew me back in…and I am always blessed by your post. I have learned a lot from those days, when you first coached me…inadvertently…some would say… but no.. it was your heart, and your true desire to read even my miniscule abstract post that made me so eager to create…and so thirsty to read your wonderful creations.
    Bless You
    Always be you…please
    love ya
    paul

  11. You lucky girl — I just last week dumped my petunias into the organics bin — but your pictures made me smile — I adore petunias, they are just the happiest looking flowers out there, I think. Thanks very much for the ping-back!

  12. That’s always the problem with working near someplace interesting…I tend to spend as much as I make in those other shops …guess that keeps the ecconomy going. :-)

  13. Happenstance…would we consider that the same as serendipitous? Mango sounds fabulous, though I would like to see curry…keep bloggin, but make it a non-stresser, we love what ever Cin posts ~

  14. That is so silly that you can’t call a pansy a pansy. Things are just as mad here in Australia. We have a breed of penguins called ‘Fairy Penguins’ but as of a few years ago we’re not allowed to call them that any more because ‘it’s offensive’. The name has been changed to ‘Little Penguins’. It’s a world gone mad.

  15. Those stackable bamboo steamers are marvellous. I use them to steam vegetables but am not a wonton kind of girl…

    Looking forward to seeing the fruits of your Asian ingredient experimentations :)

  16. Aawwww, I adore fuschias (both colour and flower), petunias and pansies…oops, johnny-jump-ups (Cindy, you gotta be kiddin’) and the mugs…and the mango nail polish? …um, still thinking…call me in the new year.. ;)

  17. Hi Cindy
    I am having a dinner party on Saturday. Where is the Chinese supermarket that sell the wonton wrappers? I want to use it as a ravioli substitute as I’ve never made fresh pasta before and don’t want to try it for the first time on the night.

    • Hello Gloria, I only saw your comment now. The Chinese supermarket has closed, but there is another one in the Carreira Centre – just a block up from the Brightwater Commons.

Leave a Reply

