BORER BEETLES AND CUSTARD MINGLES

Monthly Mingle badge November Custard theme

Borer beetles are more interesting than custard! One species, the Death Watch Beetle, to attract mates, create a tapping or ticking sound that can be heard in the rafters of old buildings on quiet summer nights. They are therefore associated with quiet, sleepless nights and are named for the vigil (watch) kept beside the dying or dead, and by extension the superstitious have seen the death watch as an omen of impending death. How do I know this?
I’ve become familiar with boring lately; sitting on the internet, trying to stave off insomnia by searching for boring quotes to make me fall asleep. I found some very successful ones:
• The Lexmark Z25 Colour printer has a sound emission of 44dB.
• Did you know that St John’s Wood underground station is the only station in London that doesn’t contain letters from the word Mackerel?
• A Booby is a type of bird with webbed feet.
ARE YOU STILL WITH ME??? WAKE UP!

I also found that Fish Sticks and Custard is “a radio show on WVKC coming outta Galesburg every Tuesday at 8”, because I was searching for an interesting fact about custard with which to open my entry into Meeta’s Monthly Mingle, which is being hosted by Sally this month and features custard.


Alas, my custard tastes are boring too; I like it thin, pouring consistency, over a rich chocolate cake, or layered with preserved green figs from Granaat in the Karoo in a trifle that is a sublime mix of bitter and sweet …

Ps: Do you want to go back to sleep now? Okey dokey:
“Adopting a standard radius of curvature for the tines on a fork would allow 5% more cutlery to fit in a drawer, which for the whole of the UK would fill a football pitch the size of Wales with double decker buses.” Zzzzzzzzz….

78 thoughts on “BORER BEETLES AND CUSTARD MINGLES

  1. Beetles or custard? I know which I’d rather have :) Green figs though – tell me about those…I’ve never had a green fig and they look fabulous with the yellow stuff. PS Really do not fancy fish sticks with custard!

  2. Morning Cin, your blogs look different and I guess we don’t ussualy take kindly to change until we get used to the change. You pour so little custard. I like it suffocating the pudding.

  3. You are so pretty in pink…No wait, I already said that didn’t I? Soooo…Here I am, Custards last stand…Oh, I know…Yeah.. I can comment on how beautiful your booby birds… web fee..Oh, that wont work.. sorry, I pretty much just like everything you create and post…
    You are exceptionally excellent with Eggs though… Yeah…that’s what I was trying to say.

    Come on…it was just an Egg Yoke…(joke)

    Oh, yeah, that only rhymes in the Southern US, egg Yolk,.. would be the proper pronunciation… Whatever, I still love you as a friend.
    paul

  4. Those are some interesting facts that no one (I think) really cares to know about… ;) So is it helping to bore you to sleep? I hope so! I’ve been having so many sleepless nights over the past year and a half. Eventually I didn’t know what to do with myself, yet I haven’t thought of looking up boredom. Hmm, clever girl! Creative :) I am enjoying some of them. Whether I’ll remember them is a whole different ball game :D

    Custard? For sure – simplicity is a winning recipe in my book. You don’t find it in the States though – not as far as I know :( There is so much that they don’t know what they’re missing. I have found places that you can buy it from online though ;) That dessert looks D-vine!

  5. Cin, where can you advise me to have our work xmas lunch? I have been given the task to organize and I am not sure where to take it that each person can have a decent meal incl dessert for about R250. The co is giving 130pp and we can match that. Are you able to give pointers? You can respond here or to my email.

  6. Wow….thanks for the wake up call…can’t sleep now counting beetles! ;)
    By the way, I’m a custard fanatic – hot OR cold – bring it on.. :grin:

  7. My Mom made the best trifle – bar none – ever made. Her custard is what made it the best, I have not been able to find her recipe – alas! I think she probably didn’t have one, She made it up as she went along, and never wrote it down. . .

  8. Borer Beetles? The closest thing I can think of we have round these parts to fit that description would probably be the “Tater Bug”..

    Let me know if I’m close…they burrowed into the dirt, usually in a barn, or potato cellars, and left a funnel looking tiny crater and, as far as the Tater Bug Nick…they also tended to ball up when touched resembling a grey Irish Potato. Is that the Creachsture you call the “Borer Beetle”? Actually, the more common name we as kids gave them, ( Along with a little nursery rhyme) was “Doodle Bugs”…I think it was WE who did the dooding more than the bug, as we sang the little rhyme while swirling a twig in the funnel hole …until we dug up the builder.

    As best I remember we sang…doodle bug doodle bug, where are you…come out, come out where ever you are, Or I’ll come in for you…Doodle Bug Doodle Bug, your house in on fire, come out now, or you are just a liar.

    While googling to try and find what we really said, I see there are countless versions from state to state throughout the Southern U.S. of lyrics…Please tell me the Borer Beetles you speak of are the “Doodle Bugs” I remember, or else…this whole comment will be
    AWKWARD!!!! Heh, nuttin new there though…I ain’t shame
    God Bless You
    paul

  9. That is some world-class triv, Cindy. I’m agog.

    Have you tried Diary of a Nobody on an iPod? After you listen to it three times or so it becomes like a familiar, affable comfort blanket. Sends us drifting off to sleep…Just a thought :-)

  10. For some odd reason, I had to know that tidbit about the booby. Boo! regarding your insomnia…do you load up on magnesium? I know I know, everyone has a solution, but magnesium is a natural relaxent. Here there is a product called Natural Calm that you drink at night. Just a thought… Beautiful pictures ~

  11. Pingback: Mingling with custard « My Custard Pie

Leave a Reply

