PETIT FOURS

I am fighting a losing battle with my email inbox, I read two blogs and come back to find 50 new notifications of posts. You lot will just have to be very patient for me to catch up. In the meantime, my darling friend Paul has granted me the Versatile Blogger award, for which I am very grateful. I am not going to pass it on, as I think most bloggers have received it over the past week.

I’m lagging badly, too, with Tandy’s ingredient challenges, which I always enjoy doing. This past weekend I used almonds in my stock vanilla cake recipe, and the result was really beautiful in its simplicity. It made a super carrier for fresh berries and cream.

And just for a lark ….

As seen on Granny’s blog, my list of fours:

Four places I go.
1. To drop my daughter at ballet classes
2. Norman Goodfellow’s in Illovo for fine wines
3. Solly Kramer’s in Parkview for everyday drinking wines
4. Tyrone Fruitiers in Parkview for chocolate, charcuterie and fresh produce

Four crushes I have:
1. Gordon Ramsay
2. Colin Firth
3. Count Nicholas Czardas
4. Bryan Ferry

Four smells that I love:
1. My daughter’s neck after her bath
2. The peppery nose of First Sighting Shiraz
3. Lulubelle sleeping under my office chair
4. Wet earth after a Gauteng thunderstorm

Four favourite TV shows:
1.Masterchef Australia
2. Oz Clarke and James May Big Wine Adventure
3.Great British Menu.
4. Hairy Bikers

Four Favourite Movies.
1 The History Boys
2. Babette’s Feast
3. Big Night (Stanley Tucci is another of my crushes!)
4. A Good Year

Four Recommendations:
1. First Sighting Shiraz with a bleu fillet steak and pepper sauce
2. Kleine Zalze Shiraz Mourvedre Viognier 2008 with slow roasted lamb shank
3. Adoro Mourvedre with Gorgonzola
4. Veuve Clicquot Brut Yellow Label with a lover

And here’s an aaaaaaw moment, best buddies greeting each other in the morning:

86 thoughts on “PETIT FOURS

  1. I’ve never seen a dog and bunny lying nose to nose like that before. Quite remarkable!
    Babette’s Feast is one of my all time favourite movies.
    I’ll never forget that wonderful *smell* after a Gauteng rainstorm
    I don’t like *blue* cheese but I hope to catch up on your wine list one day

  2. When I get overwhelmed by emails of posts, I turn off the notifications for a few days. I still check out my top favourites but it stops me panicking that I’ll never get to the end of my in box list. Then, when I’m feeling on top of things again, I tick the notification box again. Another way to follow is to look under ‘following’ on your wordpress homepage – that way you see who’s posted without having the emails…

    And, do you know? The world hasn’t fallen apart when I’ve done this! :)

    Try it. I really find it takes the ‘pressure’ off.

  3. The buddies pic is priceless – the world surely could learn something from this sort of friendship. And mmmmm, I could use some of that berries & cream almond vanilla loaf right about now, even though it’s barely mid-morning here…

  4. I seem to be doing it the hard way with WP at the moment, can anyone understand what’s going on? Just smile and carry on! I’ve lost, gained, cried and laughed this week in front of my computer. No diet puns intended! I’m sure its all for the best in our organizational skills and hey…we all have to prioritize.
    The almond cake topped with berries looks great! Have a wonderful day! x

  5. I know what you mean about the In-Box thing…and as you are overwhelmed right now with daily activities,as well as enjoying a rather large amount of traffic, I wont burden you by passing you another challenge I received. Oh, Lulabelle has a little friend.. . Cool
    Bless You
    paul

  6. I LOVE YOUR LIST OF FOURS. Many I share: big reds, Babette’s Feast. The History Boys, Bryan Ferry but have never heard of ‘Big Hairy Bikers’ and not sure if I want to :)

  7. Oh gosh I know the feeling re the new blog posts in the inbox, it’s difficult to keep up. :) How cute is that last picture. Hope your keeping well aside from the feeling of being constantly behind. :)

  8. Morning, nice lists! I always asked myself how you introduced bunny to Lulu when you 1st brought him/her home, they seem to have good relations.

  9. Ha! We all have problems keeping up sometimes. Life before blogging, Cindy! ;-) Congrats on the award. Bravo to Paul …

    Love, love, love Babette’s feast and Stanley T. in anything ….

    Blog on …

  10. Pingback: Regional and Seasonal, a winner and a give away! | Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

