GETTING TO KNOW YOU BETTER

Mandy, of thecompletecookbook has posted another enjoyable challenge to let us all get to know one another better:

1.  What 5 items are always in your fridge?

Milk, mayonnaise, sambal oelek, cheese, grated beetroot

2.  What 5 items are always in your pantry ?

Tinned lentils, flour, sugar, spices, castor sugar

3.  Do you write a grocery list or do you shop off the cuff?

I make a list of dry goods every Saturday morning and my husband does the shopping. I buy my meat, fish and vegetables daily in the local village

4.  What is/are the most used item/s in your kitchen?

My stove and my knives

5.  What do you have in your kitchen that may seem strange to other people?

Thousands of wine corks

6.  If you were to enter a Come Dine With Me challenge, what would you cook?

Starter: A prawn and citrus salad

Mains: Greek style Lamb shanks

Dessert:Eton Mess, it’s my personal cliché, but everyone loves it

 

7.  If you could invite any 4 living people in the world to dinner, who would they be?

Sting, Graydon Carter, David Bowie and Mick Jagger

8.  What is your favourite breakfast out?

French toast with bacon and grilled tomato at Scusi in Parkview

9.  What one condiment could you not be without?

Soya sauce

10. Some people seemed to have a problem eating leftovers or reheated food, do you?

No. Anna Trapido wote a magazine article recently where she cooked two identical casseroles in two days. She served them to family and asked them to vote. All the people liked the two-day-old one best.

59 thoughts on “GETTING TO KNOW YOU BETTER

  1. I have a funny feeling you will be chosen for Come Dine With Me girlfriend! (I entered but Gold Coast not on list this time and hope to have change for next one!!) Always wonderful to get to know you better!! That prawn and citrus salad left me salivating…have you posted recipe on here before? Have a fabulous weekend Cin oxo

  2. Brilliant, thanks for playing along again. :-D Pete will be most disappointed that I never put Mick Jagger on my list of guests!
    Our wine corks have been moved to the garage – not enough kitchen space. ;-)
    Have a happy weekend. :-) Mandy

  3. How interesting, thanks Cindy. Didn’t know you were such a muso, and thanks for the intro to Graydon Carter. Your lamb shank looks positively mouth-watering!!

  4. tears…I wouldn’t be one of the ones you invite? Lol. I must ask, what is sambal oelek? Don’t know if it’s not popular in America or if I’m just a culinary idiot…

  5. Great dinner menu, Cindy! You need one of those huge 30 liter green glass wine barrels. Not sure if you know the ones I mean? To display all those wonderful corks. I’d have a house full with the vineyards produce! Have a great weekend! Cheers x

  6. Fabulous list, Cin, and I do wish to dine with that party of 4! Have you ever thought of fashioning a wine wreath? My SIL loves wine and had a wreath made of corks..it is very cool and hangs in her wine nook; cheers ~

  7. Lamb! Favorite … and tomorrow is my son and daughter-in-law’s anniversary and I am about to go buy our lamb for the celebratory dinner.

    The shrimp looks good too … Hmmmm ….

  8. Interesting about the leftovers. There are certain ones that I feel about like the casserole. If I make a meal that is not really the kind of thing that reheat well I’ll cook in such a way that there is no leftovers.

    Do you plan on doing anything with the corks?

Leave a Reply

