JUSTIN TIME

I’ll admit that I was ambivalent about local cook Justin Bonello. Until I won an autographed copy of his book Cooked, Out of the Frying Pan in one of the Kleine Zalze challenges last year. When I received the book I became quite star-struck and now follow Justin’s TV shows avidly. I’ve also bought some of his other books. I’ve grown fond of his blokeish honesty and down-to-earth way of doing things.
Justin is currently running a cooking challenge (with a Le Creuset prize) to make a dish from any of his books. As I had two filleted angel fish in the freezer, I decided to do the Fish Frikkadels and Apple and Mint Raita that Justin learned to make at Cindy Muller’s Johannesburg restaurant, Gold. (Page 47, Cooked, Out of the Frying Pan – recipe available on request.)


The tasting panel were my husband, daughter and her best friend. The girls liked the raita, but my husband said he’d prefer an aioli. All agreed that the frikkadels were superb.
And, wouldn’t you know it; today is Feast day of St. Peter, patron saint of fishermen, bakers, harvesters.


As an aside, I’d like to make a comment about Facebook competitions. I am a long-standing member of the South African food blogging community, so my comment is an informed one: people have grown tired of ‘most likes’ popularity contests and it is becoming to be seen as in extremely bad taste to ‘beg for votes’. If brands decide to run competitions, they should be judged on merit instead.
Just saying …

74 thoughts on “JUSTIN TIME

  1. for dinner last night we had what Mr F (our cook) called fish cakes (minced fish) We’d love to get the recipe for Justin Bonello’s Frikkadels so we can try the S.African version.

    Thanks for adding the point at the end. I agree the begging for votes is in bad taste.

    • Bonello’s fish frikkadels: (taken verbatim from the book)
      ½ kg of a smoked, oily fish (like snoek, angel fish or yellowtail)
      3 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
      Salt and milled black pepper
      60 ml coriander, chopped
      2 eggs (lightly beaten)
      2 tablespoons lemon juice
      1 lemon to serve
      Vegetable oil

      Skin and flake the fish making sure that even the tiniest of bones are removed. If you are using snoek make double sure because there is nothing worse than getting a mouth ful of these little spears. This is a rather painstaking task but, believe me, it’s well worth the effort. Toss all the bone-free fish into a bowl.
      Cook the potatoes in a pot of salted boiling water. Drain well. Mash and add salt and pepper to taste. Mix in the fish, coriander and egg and flavour with lemon juice.
      Shape into little cakes by flattening them between your palms. Brown lightly on both sides in a lightly oiled pan. Garnish with lemon quarters and serve with a dip bowl of apple relish.

      Apple and Mint Raita (relish):
      2 large Granny Smith apples
      1 cup washed mint leaves (without stalks)
      Pinch of salt
      1 clove garlic
      Small pinch of green masala
      Juice of ½ lemon
      60ml plain yoghurt

      Peel, core and slice the apples. Place all the ingredients, except the yoghurt, in a food processor and whizz to a thick puree. Mix in the yoghurt. Cover and chill before serving.

  2. I enjoyed this post…I enjoy your honesty all the time…and understand the change of heart that comes with a new exposure to topic or person…been there. Done that. Eaten words I’d so firmly spoke into the universe.☺.
    Your comment of the “like” button is right on…I try to be faithful with “liking”… ’nuff said on that.☺.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine, USA

  3. I will LOL at the begging for votes part. I know of a certain blogger if not two who does that, haha! But I don’t see any wrong because @ blogville we are like family and family sticks together/supports each other though I won’t do that myself. Morning Mem!

  4. I usually go and delete those pages from any list of likes. I don’t like facebook as a commercial location.

    the fishcakes sound wonderful I’m having a spell of being in love with angelfish.

  5. I’ve never heard of Fish Frikkadels ~ but the recipe looks similar to Cod Cakes.
    Lovely alliteration in both.

    I agree with you about the “begging for votes.”

    As you may recall, that is one of the reasons I decided against running for the Nature Made Good Mood Blogger position ~ it wasn’t based on selecting the best writer/blogger . . . it was a popularity contest designed to get bloggers to prostitute themselves to raise brand awareness. Ack!

    The other reason I declined to run has to do with enjoying my status as “FREE AGENT.” I’m guessing that the Good Mood Blogger could NOT have posted the post I posted today.

    And I enjoyed posting it. Immensely. :mrgreen:

  6. Those Frikkadels look delicious. So does the raita. I like Sparky’s response. When it’s family (blogging or flesh), it’s fun time. Otherwise, I am not very interested, I’m afraid.

  7. Although I’ve never been a fish frikkadel kind of person (ruined by school cooking), these would tempt me! Don’t know much about all the competition stuff, but you have my vote :-)

  8. En as jy wen?
    Ja I think merit is what it has to be and how many times should one like a recipe or vote – should only get one vote or one like.
    Love your Drak pics – have been here from time to time -just not commented – life is a whirlwind at the moment! xx

  9. I also think the “like” thing is not very sincere…. I’m sure someone just click without even read about it…
    Anyway, that dish looks lovely…my family will just love that :)

  10. Thanks for the frikkadels recipe, Cin. Will try it out, I hope, in the next few months! I agree about the food competitions – they should be judged on merit only!

Leave a Reply

