MOTORCADES AND MOUNTAINS

So, Mrs Obama is visiting our country, to the great excitement of some and the great aggravation of many who get stuck in backed-up traffic when our roads and highways are closed to allow her motorcade to ferry her from place to place. She better not be in my neck of the woods this morning, I have a buffet to deliver before we hit the road for the mountains.
I’ve been up since 3.30 this morning; this is what I’ve made:
Oriental style meatballs and potato salad
Caprese salad on sticks
Pistachio and sumac chicken skewers
Vegetable spring rolls & chicken samoosas with sweet chilli sauce
French loaf with salmon filling
French loaf with cheese and tomato filling
Chocolate toffee cake with whipped cream.

I’ve also made potato salad, curried mince and a chicken mayo ciabatta bread for our supper when we arrive at the chalet tonight. I’m terribly excited; while the girls go horseriding and Old Spouse goes hiking, I plan to play in the kitchen with my camera. Lookie what my friend Sue brought me from her recent trip to England. I’m like a child in a toy store.

Happy weekend, friends. Love you all, see you next week.

60 thoughts on “MOTORCADES AND MOUNTAINS

  1. Thank you for your thoughts…
    In Downeast Maine, traffic tie-ups are common,
    the tourists, the back bone of the economy here,
    cause the traffic to slow to a snails pace,
    and your mention of having to deliver the food
    in a timely manner
    struck a cord as in the summer
    the daily thought is “can we get there from here”!
    All that work with perishables
    makes it all the more urgent for you…
    the food looks yummy,
    your gifts fun,
    and plans for the weekend, to boot ☺.
    Peace. Siggi in Downeast Maine.

  2. Up late tonight…evening of listening to world class jazz at a local venue…tired…but still awed by your ability to cook at this hour of the morning…going to bed…even more exhausted after reading about your early morning cooking…have a safe trip my friend.

  3. When the Obamas visit L.A and the traffic is shutdown all along their route we’re all late for work. It’s no fun.

    I cannot fathom how you cooked ALL that food so early in the morning. As far as I’m concerned 3:30 is still the middle of the night. I don’t think I could even manage to make a cup of coffee so early.

    I hope the Chalet in the Drakensberg is cozy with a fireplace

  4. Well done!! Up and at it early … enjoy your holiday. There is just so much to do in the Berg and so many awesome restaurants. If you are in the mood for an awesome Sunday Lunch – La Lampara in Balgowan is my most recent find. Beautiful Italian food … wine … pizza oven … atmousphere in an old dairy in Balgowan. Awesome!!!

  5. You have a happy weekend, too, Cindy. The food looks so good. I’m in the mood for that chocolate toffee cake with whipped cream! It all looks good. I’d have a nervous breakdown trying to make all that stuff in one morning! Or in one week! Blessings…

Leave a Reply

