IT’S MOTHER’S DAY TOMORROW

“When someone you love dies, and you’re not expecting it, you don’t lose her all at once; you lose her in pieces over a long time - the way the mail stops coming, and her scent fades from the pillows and even from the clothes in her closet and drawers. Gradually, you accumulate the parts of her that are gone. Just when the day comes - when there’s a particular missing part that overwhelms you with the feeling that she’s gone, forever - there comes another day, and another specifically missing part.”
John Irving (A Prayer for Owen Meany)

Oh, for one last conversation. I wouldn’t talk much, I’d want to listen in on you and your grand daughter, who – just by the way – looks so much like you that it sometimes takes my breath away.

I started cooking early today; my mother in law is coming to lunch tomorrow, along with my good friend, Sidey. You’d love Sidey, but you wouldn’t like my MIL at all; she once made the Bunn sleep on the floor. I’d asked her to babysit as we were going to a wedding and would stay in a hotel overnight. When I arrived the next morning, she explained that her dog didn’t like anyone taking his place on the bed. I never let her babysit again. She also throws away the handmade cards my dort makes for her; you would never do that.

You’d approve of my menu; we’re having French onion soup, a roasted lamb guard of honour and a mixed berry tart. I’d have got you some of that dreadful Drostdy-Hof Extra Light wine you loved.

And I’d tuck a blanky around you for an afternoon nap on my couch …

71 thoughts on “IT’S MOTHER’S DAY TOMORROW

  1. She looks a lot like her grand-daughter. She is so beautiful.
    I did something similiar last night but I’m not sure I’m ready to blog about it.

  2. I hope you have a lovely lunch – nice that you’ve planned a menu your mum would have liked. She clearly had good taste too!

    Here’s a toast to her.

  3. Thank you for introducing your Mom to me (us). She was beautiful, and remains so – in you and her granddaughter. Bunn might look a lot like her, but you do too, Cin!

    I find myself so often wishing my Mom could see this or that thing or person – her great grandchildren, for example – she did not live to see their births, but I stop myself when I realize that she not only sees them but she was there when they were born and hovers around us all quite frequently! What I am bemoaning is that I can’t see her seeing them! I would love to see the look on her face when she lays her eyes on our Zoë!

    Those of us blessed with extraordinary mothers know a blessing that cannot be quantified or analyzed. It stays with us like a scent that buries itself in our clothing, and cannot be washed away. You walk into a room and sense something in the air and instantly the thought comes to mind and your heart skips a beat, “Mom!”

    Blessings on Mother’s Day! Just think, you are creating those memories for your Bunn, and she will treasure them as you do your own.

  4. The introduction about losing one’s mother unexpectedly is so true to life. A tear trickled from my eye as I read it. Your mother looks very sweet. What a beautiful smile! I think you look a lot like her. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  5. I hope your dort doesn’t know about the cards… Sleeping on the floor for the dog! I don’t blame you making alternative arrangements after that :(

    Isn’t it just sad for all those for whom mother’s day does not hold the warmth, comfort and miss of a great mother? I envy those who have such wonderful memories of their parents… What that must be like…

    Happy mother’s day, Cin! I hope it is special for you :)

  6. Cindy: If I had a hat I’d take it off to you: it’s fabulous the number of replies you get and the amazing thing is you get these replies every time! I don’t know how you do it. You obviously have mastered the \art of blogging

  7. How beautiful and how beautiful your mom was too – I can so much see you and your sister when I look at that picture. Moms are such special people – I miss mine dreadfully too. xx

  8. Beautiful – and makes me tearful.

    My daughter visited from the UK, and as we sat one night around a table of guests debating various issues, we found each other forming a united front – all I could think of was how my Mom (a fiesty and charming debater) would have been sitting right there with us. Actually, I guess she was…

  9. Well I just had to go and inadvertenly (sp) ruin my mil’s day. ugh. dang it. if you tell me we are going somewhere local then I expect it to be within 10 miles or so. And I don’t have to make plans for the dogs and I can will just like it better that way!!!! And how is stating the fact that I will bow out and let the rest of you have fun such a bad thing?! I mean really. So what if I don’t want too go?! I hate holidays.

  10. What a special tribute to your Mom, Cindy. So sorry for your loss and touched that you keep her memory so vividly alive. I hope your day was altogether lovely, xo

Leave a Reply

