DUFs AND A TOPLESS TART

Downs:

Dreary weather.

Ups:

Lunch at the home of friends today, haven’t seen them since Christmas.

Forward:

Mountain sojourn on Tuesday.

The Topless Tart:

Jeanne Horak Druiff was one of the speakers at the Food & Wine Blogger Indaba I attended in February. Until then, I wasn’t aware of her award-winning blog. I have since been following her and this month she is hosting the Monthly Mingle, her sister Meeta’s monthly event.  The theme is Topless Tarts.

My contribution:

1 roll puff pastry

1 packet chopped bacon

1 packet baby spinach leaves

1 camembert cheese round

12 cherry tomatoes, halved

Handful of chopped spring onions

Dried rosemary and pepper to taste

I sautéed the bacon bits until they were crisp, turned of the heat and added the spinach leaves to wilt. I laid this mixture onto the pastry and topped with the cheese, tomatoes, onions and seasoning and baked at 180C for 35 minutes. 

Before posting this, I Googled the ingredients to check that my tart was original. Alas, I find that Oprah magazine featured something similar in April 2010, albeit a galette and not a tart.

Food trivia for the day from foodreference.com:

24 April 1994 The world’s largest lollipop, 3,011 pounds, is made inDenmark.

Why, I ask you, why?

UPDATE:

Here is the link to the roundup of all the contributions to this challenge:

http://www.cooksister.com/2011/05/topless-tarts-everywhere-the-monthly-mingle-roundup.html

54 thoughts on “DUFs AND A TOPLESS TART

  1. Cindy, this looks simply divine. This is going to be one of my next cooking projects. Don’t let my friends on to your blog or they’ll be bugging me endlessly! Besides, I may want to eat the whole thing myself. There are times when a woman has to take a stand even against our best buddies.

  2. Sounds good. Have fresh (from the garden ) spinach now and a little green onion (won’t bulb for a long time though and tomatoes won’t be here until at least June -Just planted them from the greenhouse today to the garden.)
    Oh well, store bout for some of is is better than nothing. Going to give it a try. Any other cheese acceptable besides camembert?
    Thanks. :-)

  3. This looks absolutely delicious.

    Is there really any completely ‘new’ recipe? :) I reckon any new cookery book I buy might have one ‘new’ recipe I’ll use – and that’s often a slant on something similar. That having been said, it’s the tiny differences that make ALL the difference. (If you see what I mean!)
    :)

  4. This looks delicious. I might be able to do this. I’ll have to look for puff pastry. I suppose I could get it from a bakery. Thank you for a great recipe. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  5. That looks delicious!!!
    I am so very bored with everything i am cooking these days, need to start looking through all your awesome recipes for nice quick ideas. At least the ingrediants would be readily available…. and I know that you are anal about measurements and how they are done…. So it could only be simple- right.
    xx

  6. Pingback: Topless tarts everywhere: the Monthly Mingle roundup - Cooksister

Leave a Reply

