PINKELPAUSE PEEP-IN

“There is nothing like a plate or a bowl of hot soup, it’s wisp of aromatic steam making the nostrils quiver with anticipation, to dispel the depressing effects of a grueling day at the office or the shop, rain or snow in the streets, or bad news in the papers.”
Louis P. De Gouy, ‘The Soup Book’ (1949)

And boy, oh boy, have we had all those things; the grueling day (tired eyes, sore back), the rain and the bad news in the papers. It has not snowed, but our freezing temperatures did have me looking out of the window on occasion to see if there were icicles dangling in the trees and shrubs. I predict that the dogs will soon have to be rushed off to Pete-The-Vet to be treated for cystitis; they simply refuse to get out of their beds to go outside for their routine Pinkelpause.

On the subject of toilet breaks, I took one from my workload a short while ago and was saddened to read that Pietro Ferrero has died while in our country on a business trip. This brilliant businessman quietly went about doing much to assist with educating the children ofSouth Africa about HIV & AIDS. Must be a devastating blow to his family and the entire Ferrero group.

And now time to fortify myself with my bowl of soup and get myself back to my desk. The weekend starts on Thursday here, and everyone is flinging work at me from all angles; I guess they want to get their jobs to the printers on time, as the printing industry closes down completely until the 3rd of May.

Oh, to settle back with a glass of wine instead …

44 thoughts on “PINKELPAUSE PEEP-IN

  1. So sorry to hear about Pietro Ferrero, especially so young and falling off a bicycle in our beautiful CT. Think I’ll join you with a comforting bowl of soup for supper, Cindy…and will think of you with that heavy workload. Hope you knock it on the head soon!

  2. Sad for the family of a man in the prime of his life. I’m having the same problems on the client deadline front at the moment – a glass of wine at the desk, perhaps?

  3. I have to admit I’m a bit on the boring side with soup even though I love it. My favorites are tomato soup (unfortunately the Knorr packet), butternut soup (from Woolies) and traditional home cooked vegetable soup – something I learnt to do only about four years ago. I’m pretty impressed with my progress though. That soup looks lovely. What kind is it? Oh, and don’t forget the bread – SOUTH AFRICAN bread that is ;)

  4. Sorry but all I can focus on is how I am going to freeze when I get home. I don’t like the cold weather at the best of times and not having experienced cold weather for 2 years is going to be a major shock to my system.
    Sad news about Pietro Ferrero.
    Maybe you will get your work done before the Easter break with the help of an extra glass of wine or two. Just a thought. :-) Mandy

  5. I absolutely love soup — could live on it quite happily, I think. One of my favorites is Hot and Sour soup, but hands down homemade chicken or turkey is the best (with homemade egg noodles, of course!)

Leave a Reply

