TWO PIECES OF JOLLY GOOD NEWS

GEORGE: Why do I get pesto? Why do I think I’ll like it? I keep trying to like it, like I have to like it.

JERRY: Who said you have to like it?

GEORGE: Everybody likes pesto. You walk into a restaurant, that’s all you hear – pesto, pesto, pesto.

(From Seinfeld episode: The Busboy)

 

George is right; everybody does love pesto and my own favourite is Pesto Princess. I was lucky enough to meet Kathleen Quillinan at the Food & Wine Blogger Indaba. Kathleen started Pesto Princess on a whim in her Cape Town kitchen some 12 years ago.  The Pesto Princess pestos are as near as can be to any homemade versions. I am told that some chefs divulge that Pesto Princess is their secret ingredient.

Now Pesto Princess have made me feel like a princess myself; they’ve given me my very own apron. That’s not all; they’re also sending me some of their product to experiment with AND they are going to give aprons to THREE of my readers! Watch this space next week for competition details.

The other news that has me dancing a jig is that, based on the cakes I made on Friday, the Art Buyer (at the ad agency where I spent the past 6 weeks) has asked me to supply the catering for a film shoot next week. This is a foot in the door, no; it is an enormous step towards fulfilling a lifelong dream of mine.

It’s uncanny, really, I am amazed my the constant stream of luck in my life. And I am grateful.

 
59 thoughts on “TWO PIECES OF JOLLY GOOD NEWS

  1. luck? you’re going after what you were designed to do, what you love, what is congruent w your inner self, your self-care and naturally you are a genius. you were made this way but it takes very hard work to do what you were made to do well. rock-it cin. bless.

  2. When we move in the direction of our dreams, doors not only open . . . they appear out of “thin air.”

    Just start . . . and the way will appear.

    And Yay! That is Jolly Good News!

  3. All the best with the catering. There is an art to that and one has to be passionate about it and that you sure are. I don’t believe in luck, I believe in what is meant to be will be :)

  4. How exciting for you, what are you going to feed them?! I used my Princess Pesto in a pumpkin lasagne and I was very impressed with it.

    • It’s a small crew, and all will be cold foods that I can prepare in advance. I have someone on standby if I need help, and if it becomes viable I have someone who wants to be my full-time assistant.

  5. Fabulous news, Cindy! Here’s to that foot in the door becoming something more! I love it when a door opens out of the blue..
    I also adore Seinfeld. You have such taste.

  6. Congratulations on the contract and good luck with its execution. You’ll do just fine. I’m new to your blog and have spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. You’ve created a lovely spot for your readers to visit. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. Brilliant news Cindy! You and lady luck are becoming best buddies, going from strength to strength.
    Looking forward to hearing about all the fun of the film shoot and what you make them to eat. :-) Mandy

  8. How wonderful to read all the loving & supportive comments, Cindy! You have marvellous readers; closer to friends, really!

    In reply to Supa’s comment; pumpkin lasagna sounds delicious! What a good idea to try pesto with it; which flavour did you use?

    And to nursemyra; Our Thai Pesto has coriander, and our exotics Chimichurri and Chermoula too, but no coriander & cashew at this time! Do you make one yourself? Sounds lovely!

Leave a Reply

