FOOD & WINE BLOGGERS INDABA, PART 2

There are 168 unread notifications in my email inbox. These are all for recent posts on my friends’ blogs. Please know that I will read and visit each and every one of them as soon as I can. I am catching up with work after being away on Monday, was on a film shoot for most of yesterday, and I am really battling to keep up.

Before I move along to sharing more of my experience at the Food & Wine Bloggers Indaba, allow me to tell you that today is National Banana Bread Day and International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day on the Culinary Calendar.

With that out of the way, here’s a snap of the view from our conference venue; Monkey Valley Nature Resort in Noordhoek; pretty enough – almost – to distract from what was happening in the hall.

The MC of the day was Jeanne Horak-Druiff, the award winning blogger Cooksister! I had not read her blog before, and was immediately taken by her warm personality and willingness to share tips. Her key points for engaging with a wider audience were “share, praise and link”.

Next up was a friend I adore, Jane-Anne Hobbs, possibly the best source of breaking news with her Twitter handle @Jane_Anne62

In the near future I will be doing many posts on the things Jane-Anne covered, but most exciting were the trends that are predicted in the food world, among them:

White pepper, pork neck, mustard greens, horseradish, pistachio, water chestnuts, Cape gooseberries, parsnips, natural yoghurt and edible glitter.  She has also set me on a quest to find my own copy of The Flavour Thesaurus.

Our next speakers were doyennes of the South African food world,  Abigail Donnelly and Phillipa Cheifitz, who spoke about food in magazines and shared their stories of how they came to be ‘discovered’. It was a real coup that the organiser of the Indaba, Colleen Grove, got these icons to give us their time.

They presented us with the prettiest biscuits. You can read more about all the speakers and sponsors here:

http://foodbloggaindaba.wordpress.com/

I’ll cover the next speaker, a man I love with all my heart, in my next post.

49 thoughts on “FOOD & WINE BLOGGERS INDABA, PART 2

  1. The worst thing about a little away trip is all the blog reading you come home to, but seriously….. its almost sacrilege to miss out on one of our fave bloggers posts, so even if it takes days if your anything like me, its impossible not to read. Love the messages coming from your bloggers get together. thats a great tip…. share, praise link. All good stuff.
    I’d love to get a copy of the flavours thesaurus too…, let me know where you find it, I’m guessing it’d be on Amazon right?

  2. I perfectly understand what it means to have unread notifications… I always try to catch up with all of them, but it seems impossible!! My inbox is more powerful than me…

  3. Food, food, food. I’m captivated by it and really enjoy blogs that include food. I like the pic of the cake made with frosting *?*, and the decorations on top, the rolling pin and the squeezer bag (don’t know the name of that decorating tool). Enjoy your day. Blessings to you…

  4. Thanks for the update, interesting the upcoming trends in the food world, have to get my thinking cap on and try some new combinations. Love a challenge specially when it comes to my taste buds. x

  5. Oh Cin, what a lovely post, and thank you so much for your kind compliments. It was a pleasure to meet you, and I hope that we meet again soon.

    I haven’t met a single person who didn’t enjoy the Indaba! I loved meeting so many new and old friends, and felt so inspired by all I saw and heard.

    x Jane-Anne

  6. Pingback: THE FIRST PESTO PRINCESS APRON GIVE AWAY « The only Cin

  7. Pingback: CLOVES AND NOSTALGIA « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

