FOOD BLOGGER INDABA, PART 1

With little alternative I have adapted to living in Johannesburg and even come to love the grand old Highveld lady. But, when I go to Cape Town and leave the airport, something happens to me; my soul breathes more deeply and there is no denying that I am home.

My friend Susan and I had timed our flights perfectly, she flew in from Durban to attend the South African Food Blogger Indaba, and our host, Tandy, fetched us. Many people stared as we met in the arrivals hall, shrieking and hugging one another.

We made our way to Tandy’s home in Gordons Bay, where Tandy cooked delicious meals for us. First was a lunch of caponata, (Tandy had made this as her entry into the Vin-atics challenge) with flatbreads.

 

On Saturday evening we were joined by longtime friend Chantelle, and treated to a four-course meal that included a starter of gazpacho (with a divine home-baked olive bread) and crayfish cooked on the fire by Tandy’s husband Dave.

After a riotous night of wine and laughter, we fell into bed (top bunk for me) and snored away until it was time to do our early trip to the other side of Cape Town to attend the Indaba.

Part 2 to follow.

69 thoughts on “FOOD BLOGGER INDABA, PART 1

  1. Crayfish! Yum! Sounds like you had a great time Cindy. Can’t wait for part 2 in which I assume you’ll be reporting back on the Indaba itself? FBI2011 sounds like it was a heck of a lot of fun, and hugely successful? (I was sorta following along with the Twitter tag…)

  2. Oh no! Not more pictures of those divine crayfish!

    I think I will morgage a couple of the cats and get the crayfish guzzle I crave for.

    Totally brainwashed, you lot are. Doing all those food things before you have even got anywhere near the Indaba!

  3. What an awesome homecoming & what fun that night sounded. I can imagine the shrieks of laughter & fun it was to see your friends & Oh Boy…. get a look at that awesome crayfish huh. Mouthwatering stuff :)

  4. I woudl be pretty chuffed to call teh Western Cape home. In fact, my man already started planning the move as soon as we got home. (A couple of days after you.) I have just laughed it off. How do you plan a move like that with so much commitement here? Well….
    I am still battling to catch up on everything i put aside.
    The food looks absolutely divine! I am now officially hungry!!
    xx

Leave a Reply

