RITUAL

It’s the same almost every single weekday morning; at exactly 6am I get a peck on the cheek and a see you later as he leaves for work. I pour my second cup of coffee and cut cheese for a sandwich, select a piece of fruit and take a bottle of water from the fridge. These things I place inside a green canvas lunch bag.

At twenty-five past six, I tentatively go into her bedroom. What will I find today? A sleep-crumpled cherub, who will let me snuggle for a minute and shower her cheek with loud kisses? No, more likely a grumpy gargoyle sprouting horns, who will spit and hiss like a little devil cat in protest at being woken. I do the deed quickly and flee back to the kitchen to fix Jungle Oats.

Then begins the true horror.

Where is my Alice Band, Mom?
I don’t know, where did you take it off yesterday?

Where are my shoes, Mom?
I don’t know, I haven’t worn them in ages.
Very funny Mom!

No matter how many times I suggest she prepares the night before, there is always one item she can’t find. Somehow I get the blame for this and there is much scurry and fuss and bad temper and we are almost late for school.

There, just as I am about to tell her that I won’t fetch her, that she can go home with someone else; she redeems herself and I am giving a fierce hug and those incomparable words. I love you Mommy.

She’s going to be twelve this year. I think I’ll hang a garlic clove above her doorway and give her an alarm clock. I’ll take up with a jogging group who run at 6.15 and the wicked child can get herself sorted in the mornings.

6 thoughts on “RITUAL

  1. Hehehe…I can just picture it….when I had the four grandkids living with me mornings were chaotic!!!
    Have written my first poem…must say I enjoyed doing it tho’ it is probably rubbish!!

  2. I don’t have kids but this really made me think of my chidhood and my mum. I remember having a fight with her because she couldn’t find the scissors IIIII had lost! I’m so glad I’ve grown up and we can be friends. In fact, I’m going to call her right now…

  3. I only take my nieces (13 & 17) overnight if there is no “wake up call” required of me in the morning . . .

    On weekends and holidays, I let them sleep as long as they want.

    On schooldays, I pretend I’m asleep until they’ve sorted themselves out in the morning.

    I am not brave enough to do battle with “gargoyles” before noon.

Leave a Reply

